Synergy

Becoming superhuman (overhuman) is all about achieving synergy. A lot of people can have incredible sprinting speed. A whole bunch of people can memorize licence plates of cars at a glance, without even trying. A good number of people can speak 8 languages fluently. There are a lot of incredible fighters out there, that are able to engage several “normal” humans at a time and win easily. Almost everybody reads books about body language. Great tacticians aren’t rare.

And such people are truly incredible, but in order to achieve overhumanity, synergy is what is most neccessary. To be able to put it all into one, to be able to speak to a native speaker without him realising you’re not from around that place while you pose as somebody you aren’t, the whole time monitoring his body language and, prior to the conversation, “registering” the person via minitiae, analyzing details in seconds to get a picture of who this person is. And memorizing the licence plates of his car. While being able to defeat him with one stroke.

That is synergy, and that is overhumanity.

7 thoughts on “Synergy

  1. This is over-humanity? We disagree mightily on this point, I suspect.

    You gather skills and abilities – noble in its own right – but to what end? You speak of “overhuman”, “superhuman”, “beyond-human”. But you have failed to define something: what is human?

    Is human how fast we can run? Is human how efficiently we can fight? Is human how quickly we can think? Is human how much we can see?

    • I don’t know. I have a somewhat vague notion of the person I’m trying to become, and lacking better expressions I created my own. It’s a person that can do all of the above, and more.
      But to what end, I do not know. I always wonder should all this skill gathering and development necessarily be FOR something, or is it okay just to be its own purpose. What purpose did you have in mind? Service to others?
      And defining human… I really don’t know. A field of awareness? A rational agent? Do you have a suggestion for me?

  2. “I don’t know.” – a wise answer.

    I have my own answers but I was primarily asking probing questions.

    My answer to “what is human” is that a human – as opposed to a human shaped animal if we are borrowing Bene Gesserit terms – is one who creates themselves. A human is one who can rewrite their own mind. A font of creativity. We are all shaped and subject to the programming we were provided in our youth but most of us never move beyond it. We add to it but never really take responsibility for it. On the other hand, one could say that people who don’t take responsibility for the creation of themselves are human while those who do are overhuman.

    Of course, it may be objected that you cannot entirely escape the programming of your youth. Can you willingly change yourself into your opposite? Can you, a moral person, choose to make yourself immoral? A salient objection to which I have no easy answer (easy answers are a curse). All I can say is that this definition gives meaning to the things I do.

    For the most part, I ask you questions because I am curious as to your answers. You needn’t agree with me. In fact, it’d be better if you didn’t. πŸ˜€

    • Well, I think it may be possible to rewrite your mind completely, but I’m certain I can’t do it (yet?). I can certainly do and change some things, but I suspect I’m much more influenced by my childhood and environment than I can observe. That’s why I introspect so much, I want to find more about myself and how I function.

      As to defining myself as human versus animal, or overhuman versus human, I’m thinking that defining myself as opposed to something else, or someone else, is completely OK while it stays personal and not… normative, I guess. What I’m trying to say is that I’m no better than anyone else, be it another “human” or another “animal”. I can totally see myself falling inside such an narcissoid trap.

      But there is always the question “what do you DO (that makes you overhuman/human/not animal)”. The idea of taking full responsibility of who you are and creating yourself is a great idea, but what matters is what one does, not what one has in mind of doing. So, basically, to do all of the above would be considered overhuman because DOING all these things is a manifestation of the underlying idea.

      But then on the other hand, Eckhart Tolle argues in his “Stillness speaks” that all of our skills, ideas, attitudes, problems, worries, affinities, emotions and so forth, make up our “egoic selves”. Your egoic self is your identity: your name, your friends, everything that makes you you. But, according to Tolle, it’s not truly you. The true “you” is the one that can observe all of the above. Like when you think about something and suddenly, you realize you’re thinking. That “realizator” is the true you. So we’re all made up of two “I”: the egoic self which is your identity, and your true self that is a field of awareness. The thing is that your field of awareness is not capable of anything but awareness. It cannot decide, it cannot feel emotions, it cannot think. It just observes.

      So, a human would be a field of awareness that has little or no control over the creation of his egoic self, while an overhuman would be a field of awareness that has complete (or just a lot of) control over the creation of his egoic self, I guess.

      Keep up the good comments man, you make me think!

  3. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! What a response! Thank you for that. “Narcissoid trap”, indeed! A subtle barb but effective nonetheless. I will watch that particular thread of thought more closely in the future. Though, I must say, I see that we agree on many points even if we word it differently. πŸ˜€ It flatters my ego to find one who thinks as I do – a fact which may present its own problems. We shall see.

    But let us explore this “I’m no better than anyone else” as it provides a convenient topic of discussion relevant to my point. A democratic society requires some level of apparent equality. Not the least reason being that there are few who can long suffer blows to their vanity. As a method of indoctrination in the democratic project, we have it repeated to us by our parents, teachers, and all of society that we are “no better than anyone else”. And yet how many of us actually believe that? How many of us truly exist without arrogance of some sort – even the most subtle? In fact this calls to mind an old Sufi story which I will attempt to paraphrase:

    There once was a wise king who ruled over a land of peace and prosperity. He was beloved by all his people and thought to be the most pious and humble in the land. Every Friday, like a good Muslim, he went to the mosque to pray. Normally, he had his guards usher out most of the commoners for safety reasons and began his solitary prayer “Oh, Allah! I come before you as your humble servant…” Thus the situation continued for many years. Until one Friday, he went to the mosque and had it cleared out as normal and when all was silent, he went to begin his prayer but something was wrong… He heard whispers in the mosque – his guards had forgotten someone! An old beggar he could not see was praying and whispered “Oh, Allah! I come before you as your most humble servant…” The noble king flew into a rage at this utterance and roared so loudly that the foundations of the mosque shook: “Who DARES be more humble than the king?!”

    Perhaps you are more a saint than any I have met but I’ve not yet known anyone who did not imagine themselves better than anyone else; even if only in secret thoughts. And yet I have found that I have been trained to think just this and even disdain those who think themselves better than the common mass. What twists and turns my subtle pride takes! But have I control of my own mind where I do not acknowledge even this uncomfortable charge of hubris? Or will my pride merely control me from that dark place where I dare not look? Is it pride when the unconquered warrior of a thousand battles says “I am the best warrior I have ever known”? Or is it a simple statement of apparent fact? Yes, no, perhaps both…

    Eckhart Tolle is a wonderful resource. I have come across many of his things as I have browsed the internet and it is probably good that you are reading him. I wish that here in America, we were exposed to more such contemplatives…

    On to other things, the reason I questioned the definition of “overhuman” is because the level of thought on which human languages exist require a thing and its opposite: A and not-A. You cannot have light without darkness, nor up without down. When you have overhuman you must have not-overhuman. This is inescapable. You have described things that an overhuman may be able to do but what is an overhuman?

    “So, a human would be a field of awareness that has little or no control over the creation of his egoic self, while an overhuman would be a field of awareness that has complete (or just a lot of) control over the creation of his egoic self, I guess.” This is a good, workable definition. It provides something you can work with…and an assertion to disprove later, if you’re the adventurous sort. πŸ˜‰ But now I am compelled to ask an inconvenient question: If this is the definition of overhumanity you have chosen to use, then how does the ability to fight, the ability to see, the ability to analyze, the ability to speak language flawlessly, the ability to memorize without error contribute to overhumanity? Are these just ornaments on the Christmas tree – badges of pride? Or are they integral to what you imagine an overhuman to be? You suggested in your previous comment that they might be. How so?

    Finally, I am always happy to give you reason to think. To ask questions. That’s how we learn. But don’t imagine this flows one way. Don’t let me bully you philosophically. Challenge me too. Make me justify my assertions. Ask me inconvenient questions because, in truth, it is not in the answering of questions that we grow wise…it’s in the asking.

    • Every comment is bigger than the previous one. >.<

      As to narcissism:
      I do feel myself to be generally better than others, but I know it is not true. I'm competitive in my nature, that's why I said I could see myself falling into a "narcissoid trap". I believe it's completely normal (usual), just as optimism bias is – but in my opinion, it's not good. I will try to find research to back up my claim, but for the nonce, I'll just say I read several articles (like this one, number 8 is interesting: http://listverse.com/2013/10/26/10-reasons-you-arent-who-you-think-you-are/) and spoke to a friend of mine that studies psychology. It seems, as you said, we all do that, and my friend said that those that don't exhibit any such behavior are the ones suffering from depression. Maybe true, maybe not.

      As to what overhuman is:
      My personal definition does include the ability to fight, analyze, speak languages fluently and so forth. For me, they are not just decorations, but integral parts of what makes up overhuman. On the other hand, I acknowledge that there are many people that are simply not interested in such subjects, but still have a lot (complete) control over their egoic selves. I read something great in the Bene Gesserit manual I found online, if I remember correctly, it went something like this: "as a Bene Gesserit, you will be able to excel in any area".
      SO, I'll wager and say that overhuman is a field of awareness with complete control over his/her egoic self with certain skills, capabilities and knowledge (such as analyzing nonverbals, speaking fluently many languages, being a great martial artist) – but what is important is their synergy, not just buffing up one skill.

      Bam! Overhumaned! πŸ˜€

      • Well, it’s an involved and intelligent conversation. Brevity is no virtue if it means a lack of clarity. πŸ˜€ But I’ll try to keep this last one brief.

        Narcissism – No argument. A certain level of insanity is necessary to function. I was just calling it out.

        As to “Bam! Overhumaned!” (love the “How I Met Your Mother” reference, by the way) – works for me. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

