The secrets of the everyday

In my last post, I wrote about being an outside observer in every situation. This theory has not translated itself into practice, at least not in my life. I am completely aware the fact that it should, but it just hasn’t.

A week ago, someone I know found out that a certain person in their life was an alcoholic. I’ve also been in regular contact with that person and could have and indeed should have come to that conclusion, but I haven’t done that. In fact, the thought hadn’t even crossed my mind. When we spoke about it, we were both astounded by the fact that we hadn’t already figured it out. It was so obvious!

This got me thinking. If I am unable to figure something like that, what else am I missing? Because, unlike someone having a booze problem, there are things in my life that are far more discrete, far more hidden, inaccessible to prying eyes – my eyes. If I didn’t see this, I sure as hell didn’t see a hell of a lot more.

So I propose a challenge. In the following two weeks, we will embark on a journey of discovering the everyday. What secrets are there in your life, in your school, in your family, in your friends’ relationships – what can you unveil?

Do not limit yourself to these questions, but consider them:

Is someone having an affair?
Is someone pregnant?
Is someone sick or having an addiction problem?
Is someone broke?
Has someone started learning a new skill?
Has someone committed a crime?
Has someone broken up with somebody?

All these questions are intentionally superficial and without deeper philosophical repercussions. I am not asking you to figure out if there’s going to be war between Serbia and Kosovo, or if the changing climate is screwing up the orange crops somewhere. These questions are very important, but smaller questions related to people’s personal lives are often overlooked. Overlooked, because they are superficial, and related to the everyday. But the everyday is just as important as the crucial problems of mankind – or just as unimportant, depending on your philosophical stance of choice.

So we discover anew what the everyday hides from us. Ask yourself the questions above; don’t limit yourself to them. Truly be an outside observer. If you get too in on something, you lose your external perspective. You are first and foremost an observer; observe.

Pay attention to what’s going on and leave your discoveries (or suspicions) in the comments below. If you need resources, this website has plenty: from body language to detail analysis, to meditation and exercises. I’ll do the same.

Open your eyes.

4 thoughts on “The secrets of the everyday

  1. Here are mine:
    – A guy I’ve known for some 9 years is potentially gay (I say potentially cause I have no real evidence, but touching sensually other men… You can get a lot from that.)
    – There’s a good chance of another person having an affair. For this I’m not so certain.
    – Another guy I know has problems with attention due to drug use.

  2. -I have been able to tell that my friend is in love with this boy who doesn’t really notice her (think Molly and Sherlock kind of thing); but when he even looks her way, she blushes and her hands/fingers twitch slightly. I know from previous times that when she is embarrassed, her fingers tend to twitch. When I questioned her about this boy, she looked down and started playing with the hem of her skirt.
    -I have made a few other deductions like this, but I’m not very good at it!

  3. “It has long been an axiom of mine that the little things are infinitely the most important.” – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

  4. Pingback: Plotting in the real world | Becoming overhuman

Leave a Reply

