No rest for the wicked

If I still have a noticeably weak side, it’s sleep. Man, I have to get my beauty sleep. Going without food or water can make me a bit cranky, still being all under control and cool – but man, I become a different person without my sleep. So that’s an issue I’ve been working on for some time now and I feel like it’s going well.

One of the things that needed to change was not only how much I sleep but how I sleep. I have a natural ability to fall tight asleep and not hear my surroundings while sleeping which is probably OK and even a good thing for a peaceful city dweller, but it’s a strategic weakness that has got to go – or I have no place talking about becoming overhuman.

You know how you always hear about supernatural abilities of ninjas? One of their amazing abilities is their capacity for light sleep. Even while resting, even while sleeping, there is still an awareness, a trained primal awareness that expects an imminent attack. Not claiming that all of it (or any of it) is true, I would say that it’s a thing worth examining and trying before rejecting as impossible. And that’s what I’m doing at the moment. To be sincere, that’s what I wanted to do before, but I didn’t know how. How can you train something while you’re sleeping?

And after some time I found the technique, and the technique is as follows:

Listening meditation.

So firstly, you’re going to have to accept the fact that this thing is no quick fix. If you’ve never meditated before it’s not going to work that well for you, so I suggest you start meditating on your own (or you can wait for my 30-day meditation program to get you through a month, but you might wait for some time in that case. 🙂 )

Secondly, even if you’re an experienced meditator, it’s going to take some time in order for the technique to really show itself while you’re sleeping. It’s like training your body an entirely new trick, and that takes time and effort.

What you do couldn’t be simpler: you focus your awareness on sounds you can hear. It’s what you naturally do as a kid when you’re afraid in the dark, and you heard a weird cracking sound in the room next door. Only this is deliberate, whereas a child’s fear is by no means under control. You listen, and then you listen some more, and you take time to acknowledge each and every sound you hear, be it indoors, outdoors, near or far away from you – you acknowledge it and listen on.

As you go on through your listening meditation, your thoughts will start to wander naturally because there’s basically nothing interesting going on – or apparently nothing interesting is going on. Here’s where your experience in meditation kicks in – you are (or at least should be) able to put these first few waves of wandering thoughts under rein.

Then you’re slowly falling asleep, losing awareness and letting thoughtdreams flow over you – this is a natural process. Let’s just take a moment and appreciate the word ‘thoughtdreams’. Okay, we can go on now. What then? Well, at this point you’ve lost control and it’s going to happen for a while, better just accept it than try to fight it. Just keep on listening every night and you’ll realize that at one point, even though you’re not conscious, even if you’re fast asleep, you’ll be able to hear what goes on around you.

Test it: ask your friends and family to walk around at night at random times if they’re the night type, or if you have someone to train this with, ask him/her to sneak around you at night at random times. Later during the day, talk about when they sneaked around you, how many times during the night and so on. You’ve heard the person 2/3 of the times? Good job. Keep on training.

The quality we’re after here is that shallowness of sleep which let’s us go from full rest mode to full fighting mode in a matter of seconds. Naturally, sleep comes in stages and in some stages of deep sleep, I’m not even sure it’s possible to do this, but in all other stages, I’m pretty much positive that we can be much more strategic about them.

Stages of sleep. In stage 3 and 4, I think it's going to be near impossible or impossible to make this technique work, but I have to do some research on that before claiming anything.

Stages of sleep. In stage 3 and 4, I think it’s going to be near impossible or impossible to make this technique work, but I have to do some research on that before claiming anything.

As for the health implications of such sleep habits, I have yet to experience drawbacks. I get the same amount of rest – but that might be because I’m new to this technique and it’s necessary for some time to pass so that I can evaluate this. I don’t know if it’s healthy, but I think it’s worth a try. What I know for sure is that getting killed while you sleep is certainly not healthy.

Good night!

4 thoughts on “No rest for the wicked

  1. wow, this sounds like a really useful skill to have! 😀
    maybe you could update us on how its gone in a few weeks/months? Id be really interested in training for it, myself 😉

    ps. i just recently discovered your site, and can i just say, your articles are amazing. (i love them all.) keep up the fantastic work!

      • Hey, so I just stumbled across this blog of yours and it’s like reading a manual of my life… I have had pretty high hyper-awareness skills for a long time and people don’t believe me ( that is if I choose to let the in on it). However I wouldn’t say I’ve had as much of a determination, understanding or drive to improve these “over-human abilities” as you seem to; I think my improvement came more from necessity than drive. I wouldn’t mind talking further about this with you(the author). I have some questions and maybe some insights too.

Leave a Reply

